Meal Planning Success

I’ve mentioned in a previous post that I am trying to lose about 10 pounds. In effort to do that I have been working out at least 3 times a week and trying (keyword trying) to eat healthy. I made a little progress in January but feel like this first week of February has set me back a bit due to extenuating circumstances. Therefore, I entered week two of February (the new January) with renewed determination and a very specific meal plan. With the exception of an extra glass of wine in lieu of a piece of dark chocolate, I stuck to my meal plan today, even though it was an incredibly busy one. Yay me! Here is what my day of healthy eating looked like:

This is my meal plan. I printed this menu planner from Home Life Weekly. You can print a copy by clicking here and downloading the PDF file. This worked for now but I think I will soon create my own meal planner. I left my weekend open because I have learned from experience that being too strict is very unhealthy. Plus, my hubby is coming home Sunday and I always make something special when he comes home from a work trip!

IMG_3359_1For breakfast I had blueberry oatmeal with almonds and coffee with almond milk. This was 1/2 c. quick-cooking oats (cooked in the microwave with 1 c. water for 1 minute), 1/2 c. fresh blueberries (cooked with the cooked oatmeal for an additional 30 seconds then smashed with the back of my spoon), with some added water, cinnamon, and stevia, 14 almonds, coffee and almond milk (1/4 c. divided between 2 cups of coffee). This meal came to about 300 calories. (Oatmeal- 150, blueberries- 40, almonds- 97, coffee- I don’t count, almond milk- 15.)

IMG_3345_1

For lunch I had one of my favorite wraps. I’ve been making these for years and never get sick of them. I used a low-carb sun-dried tomato flavored tortilla, 1 Tbsp. light cream cheese, 2 Tbsp. mashed avocado (about 1/4 of an avocado), 2 Tbsp. salsa, 1/2 c. rinsed black beans, some cilantro, and 10 baby carrots (which happen to be my dog’s favorite treat). It’s extremely flavorful and extremely filling. This meal also clocked in at around 300 calories. (Wrap- 60, cream cheese- 35, avocado- 45, salsa- 10, beans- 120, carrots- 35.) Yes, I can add, but I can also round.

IMG_3353_1

I was running around all day going to doctor appointments, waiting at the pharmacy, running errands, taking my dog for walks, doing laundry, etc. I didn’t start feeling hungry until around 4 in the afternoon. Luckily I had planned for snacks. I had a braeburn apple (my favorite kind) and a piece of Dove dark chocolate for a grand total of 120 calories. (Apple- 80, chocolate- 42.)

IMG_3357_1

Dinner was a new recipe: skinny lasagna rolls courtesy of Skinny Ms. You can find the recipe here.  My husband was pretty mad when he found out I was making these, but it makes 10 servings and I am the only one eating them this week so I’m planning on freezing the leftovers (haven’t quite figured out how yet) so we can have them when he comes home. Hopefully he’ll enjoy them as much as I did. He tends to not get as excited about delicious healthy food as I do. This took about an hour to make, which is a lot longer than I typically spend on a meal, but it was worth it! (I drank a glass of wine and listened to music while preparing it so that helped ;)) I had an entire head of steamed broccoli on the side, which was a little more than I planned for but I doubt an extra 1/2 cup of broccoli has ever made anyone fat. I also poured myself another glass of wine to have with dinner. A glass of wine with a piece of chocolate was an option for dessert on my meal plan so I just skipped the chocolate to make up for the extra glass of wine. This yummy meal totaled about 540 (including the extra broccoli and wine). (Lasagna roll- 240, 1 1/2 c. broccoli- 80, and 2 small glasses of red wine- 220.)IMG_3375_1

My total calorie intake for the day was 1260; only 60 over planned! I also took my dog on 2 20-30 minute walks (depending on distractions) and spent about 35 minutes on an elliptical machine. I planned on doing some bodyweight exercises too but…that just didn’t happen. (There’s always tomorrow!)  All in all I feel like today was a successful step in the right direction. Now, if only I could finish my laundry…

One thought on “Meal Planning Success

Leave a Reply

