SIMPLE Beginner’s Stregth Routine

Today I woke up feeling unwell. I am hoping against hope it’s just a cold and not the flu my niece contracted just a few days after spending the night at our house. I decided to take it easy and let my body rest, so no workouts today; not even dog walks (I took her to her favorite day care where she got to play with her friends all day long).

My meals and snacks today consisted of the same thing I had on Monday, which you can find here (with the exception of the extra wine ;)). When I make my meal plan I just rotate the same thing every other day so I’m not eating the same thing 2 days in a row but still keep things simple and grocery shopping minimal.

Yesterday I completed a strength training routine I came up with and wanted to share that with you today. As always, I like to keep thing simple so I researched the best moves for each body part, picked the ones that didn’t require special training, fancy equipment, or for you to be a Cirque-De-Solei performer. There are 3-4 moves for arms, abs, and lower body. These can be done with or without light (or heavy if you feel like it) dumbbells.

ARMS

Bicep curls (15 reps)

1104-biceps-curlOverhead Extensions (15 reps)

overhead-extensionModified Push-ups (10 reps)

Modified_Pushup1Triceps Dips (15 reps)

Chair_Tricep_Dip1

ABS

Bicycle Crunches (15 reps)

bicycle_crunchSuperman (15 reps)

Superman1Elbow Plank (60 seconds)

Plank1Side Planks (30 seconds each side)

Side_Plank

LOWER BODY

Squat with Leg Raise (16 reps total, 8 reps each side)

20120624200514-100-low-squat-lateral-leg-liftsLateral Lunges (15 reps each side)

Side_LungeDeadlifts with Upright Row (15 reps)

deadlifts

To complete one round takes me about 10 minutes. My goals is to be able to complete 3 rounds but right now I am only able to finish 2 rounds (but I am sweaty and out of breath by the end). I use 5 pound dumbbells but would like to work my way up to heavier weights. For the tricep dips I use my fireplace, but in the past I have used my coffee table and chairs. I have even seen pictures of people using their toilets. See? No fancy equipment needed!

Try this routine out and let me know what you think. In the meantime I’d love to know what your favorite strength moves are.

One thought on “SIMPLE Beginner’s Stregth Routine

Leave a Reply

